Not waiting anymore

Pixie81

Mummy to Oliver & Amelia
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a bit new to all this, so hopefully i've put this in the right place.

My DH and I got married just over a month ago. It was our original plan to try for a baby on our wedding night/honeymoon. I already have a 9 year old son from a previous relationship.

Thing is, when it came down to it, I changed my mind about trying that soon. We live in a 3 bedroom house, but one of the bedrooms is used as a playroom for my business as i'm a childminder. We thought about having an extension but turned out we'd need planning permission as it's a new house. Then last week we got a quote for a conservatory which the intention of turning it into a playroom, giving my son his big room back and turning the box room that he's in now into a baby's room. But that would take months. We're still waiting for a quote and have a feeling it will be very expensive.

Also DH has just been made redundant. He was a senior retail manager and has now decided to step down to a team leader's position - almost cutting his wages in half. He is also registering to become a childminder with me and work as a husband/wife team. We estimate he will be registered around december time.

So you see, the odds were against us on the money side of things. I make quite good money at childminding, but if we have a baby it will affect the number of children I am allowed to look after...All the time DH has been whinging that he wanted a baby now regardless saying we'll manage. Thing is, I don't WANT to "manage". I had my son very young (18) and I always had to put up with second hand clothes and toys from car boot sales. I always said if I ever had a baby, we would be comfortable so that we can give the baby everything new.