Opinions on Birth Photography

sheilarose

Reaction score
Hi All

This might be a strange topic :), however please let me introduce myself, my name is Sheila Rose, I am a photographer (and a Mum) - someone had memtioned to me recently the need for Birth Photographers in the UK, its quite popular in the States, and catching on here - its something which quite interests me, and which I think could be a wonderful way to capture the joys, pains and totally emotionally nerve racking time surrounding childbirth - if of course done in a tasteful, unobtrusive respectful manner. I would really like to hear the opinions of Mums & Dads to be? & how do you think the hospitals would react - love to hear your opinion on this one.
Thanks Sheila

yep id have it done in a shot. this mess should prob be in the press and research bit tho? i maybe wrong...

Don't know if you want to hear from people in the States or not..... but I don't think that is something I could have done. I rarely like having my picture taken under the best of circumstances.

definately not for me i'm afraid; I can see the market but any photos will be taken by me or DH...as few people as possible is what we are looking for and personal pics...

Thanks Amy - interested in the opinions of UK Mums only..I've looked at some of the States photographers sites, and while initially I thought it might be a bit ahh OMG..the photography tends to be Black & White and very beautiful - thanks for your reply Sheila

at first i read this and thought errrrr no way

but the more i think about it some tastefully angled b/w shots would be quite nice. you see a lot of people video their birth experience so why not catch it in stills?

Sorry, my birth wil be an event kept private to my husband and myself only. I really dont ever want any pictures on anywhere close to down there lol...

The pics of our family immediately after birth will be suffiecient.

Not for me, either. The fewer who see my stuff, the better!