Ovulation Spotting. Tell me your experience!

Momma13

Reaction score
I've been charting BBT for a few months, but I've charted AF, symptoms, and what not for years. I've had spotting after sex & days leading to AF. However, for the first time, I had spotting before O! I'm assuming it's ovulation spotting, because - thanks to charting - I know I ovulated the next day. However, it was quite a bit. Not just a drop on the TP when wiping. It was all over my undies when I woke up and lasted a couple hours. It was pinkish-tan: not red.(sorry for tmi) So, I have my doubts that it was ovulation spotting, because it was more like a light flow which is contradictory to everything I've read.

I'd love to hear anyone else's experiences with ovulation spotting.

Thank you!

I had that happen once. I thought af had arrived it was so much. But it only last a couple hours but happened 2 days in a row. But then was gone and real af showed up 12 days later so and to be ovulation.

That makes me feel better calling it ovulation spotting. Initially, I was worried about it being something sinister. I did just have a pap done a couple weeks prior and hadn't called to get the results, so when I did I asked the nurse about it. She didn't believe due to timing and color it was related to the pap or another abrasion. However, she said it wasn't O spotting since it happened before O. She said it happens after. However, I found contradictory information online. So, I'm fairly firm that it was related to O. I just didn't expect it to be so much. That's exactly what I thought. That I was having a super short anovulatory cycle.

I get spotting around O every month. There are two reasons for it to happen:
1) When the egg bursts through the follicle and out of the ovary, this can cause spotting, which is when you would get it a day or two after O, as it has to work its way through everything and out.