Pets (mainly cats)

fingers_x'd

Reaction score
Hey all

Just a quick query really. I'm now 8 weeks pregnant and as this is my first time I'm understandably extremely nervous about not making any major mistakes :wacko:

I have 2 female cats, both aged about 4 nearly 5 and they've been my babies throughout the long and hard 3 and a bit years that me and df have been trying to conceive. The hardest part is I don't want them to feel neglected in anyway now that I am pregnant and once little one has arrived.

Can anybody advise me with regards sleeping arrangements? I keep them out of the bedroom during the day and for most of the night but they are waking me up at 3am meowing and scratching at the door. Due to the high level of hormones my body's in I'm letting them in because I cannot bear to listen to them plus they wake me up!!! I am also finding that as I'm on annual leave from work this week that I'm sleeping on the sofa and wake up and sometimes one of my cats is asleep next to me. IS THIS DANGEROUS?? I know it will not be an option to have the cats in the bedroom once little one is here but is it now???

Any answers will be greatly appreciated

xxxx

there's nothing wrong with your cats being around you, you just have to be careful of their litter due to toxaplamosis, if that's spelt correctly!
Although trust me, their little paws will hurt you if they decide to climb on your boobs as my little boy always chooses to when he wants a cuddle!
Maybe whilst you're off (and if you're OH can sleep through it) it's worth getting them used to not being them in your bedroom now to save hassle in the future, and if you don't have to be up in the morning then you don't have to worry how long they try to sound pathetic for.
and just remember you're not doing them any harm, they're just trying to get their own way, sneaky little beggars so they are!