Prometrium Progesterone Suppositories

sunshine2014

Reaction score
Hi ladies!

This is my third pregnancy after 2 losses this year, so my Dr has put me on prometrium 2 tablets vsginally at bedtime. I'm wondering If anyone else has been/is on these and can share the side effects. Tmi but here's mine:

- I find I leak throughout the night after putting them in, it's like a watery consistency
- in the morning I sometimes I get a "glob" of what looks like thick sunscreen, like spf 50. It's not a lot, and not every day but it's really thick.
- exhausted all day

I realize the last one can be pregnancy related as well, but I'm wondering if those who were TTC found they were exhausted also.

Also, were the tablets successful in leading you to a full term pregnanxy? This is my first time on it, only about 2 weeks In. So I'm just curious to know more. And also about the sunscreen like discharge.

I am on prometrium too, I insert 2 every night. The discharge is just the melted pill, it is a cream inside the sphere like monistat and is the medicine is absorbed through your vaginal wall but the cream stays. I use a liner during the day.

This is the first pregnancy I have been on it, and also the first I have carried for this long. I feel that it is really helping me keep this baby.

I'm on prometrium with all of my pgs as I tend to have lower progesterone levels during pg. I take the oral version though. However, I do know several women who take the pessiary or suppository versions and the discharge you describe is normal. As the pp said, it's just the remnants of the pill coming out. And tiredness can also be a side effect of the progesterone. I sometimes get really tired and dizzy after taking a dose.