Pumping at work question

Wugz22

Reaction score
I'm returning to work in a couple weeks and I'm trying to collect tips on how to make this as successful as possible! I think I can get a small refrigerator to keep in my classroom, so how does it work with storing pumping parts in there… If I pump before school starts (8:30), I can just give my parts a quick rinse (no soap, no hot water in my classroom unfortunately), and then it's safe to store them in the fridge until I use them again at lunch? And then I can just do a quick rinse and back in the fridge for the after work pump session? Or do I need to be cleaning more thoroughly?

Any other tips would be greatly appreciated! I'm a teacher and very rarely have any privacy to pump in my classroom of ALL WINDOWS, so this is going to be interesting!

Hello :)
I'm expressing at the moment several times a day as I'm trying to increase my supply. I wash and sterilise my ounp every morning, then after each time I use it I just pop it back into the fridge without washing or rinsing or anything. I only clean and sterilise it once every 24 hours. Obviously I have a trash pot to collect milk each time though. Good luck :) x

Goodness my spelling on my phone is awful!! Sorry!!

*pump

*Fresh pot

Did know the supplies should be stored in fridge. Thx for that info.

Goodness my spelling on my phone is awful!! Sorry!!

*pump

*Fresh pot

lol! I was a little horrified that your pumped milk was going in a 'trash pot'. Made my body seize up just thinking about throwing fresh bm in the trash. :haha:
OP: That sounds fine. You don't need to rinse, but it might make it more comfortable for you in your 2nd+ pump sessions if you do.