Scared because im young midwives wont listen to my plan!

K

kbf48

I'm only 20 but i know what i want ideally from my labour.

I don't really want a 'plan' as such because i don't want to be disappointed if it doesn't happen and i'm not naive enough to think everything will go how i want it!

But i'm terrified of needles and the thought of an epidural and Caesarean without needing it horrifies me.

I want to go as natural as possible for along as i can, i want to try a tens machine first and maybe a hot bath etc and a birthing ball. I would accept some kind of medication like diamorphine if i really cant cope but i am adamant i don't want an epidural!

I also know i don't want my OH to cut the cord until its stopped pulsating.

I know that i don't know what its going to feel like as i've never done it before, but my mum has had 4 kids, i have 3 younger brothers and she did all of us naturally and has warned me that as its my first they will try and tell me how to do it but i need to listen to my body.

I think i have quite strong views of what i want and i think ive prepared myself well, i have watched birthing programmes since i was about 14 because i find it so interesting and im actually excited to see how i cope and how it feels. I don't want anyone trying to tell me what to do or stress me out by not just letting me do what i want!

Does anyone have any tips of how to deal with midwives even though it is my first pregnancy and i dont really know what im doing?
Also, is it really that bad or if i just stay calm will i get through it?!

I think that these days they'll respect what you're saying, epiduraks are usually on request as far as I'm aware so no one will push it on you, just make it clear when you get there that you want it to be as natural as possible and you should be fine.

Good luck xxx