Scary decision

rainbud

Expecting 1st baby
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I am New to the Form. My situation so far... So my Hubby and I are High school Sweet hearts. We have been together 7 years, married almost 2. We love each other very much. We just started discussing having a baby about a month ago. Its defiantly a little scary. We are still young and I know that there are a lot of pros and cons to deciding to add to our family. For the longest time my Husband has been really afraid of having kids. He's great with them but his parents went through a tough divorce when we met and I feel like hes afraid of being a failure as a dad. Just recently he has been coming around and feeling better about having kids. I thought he was kidding at first because he has been so up and down about it for so long. But he does seem to be ready now, although I am wondering how much influence the rest of our friends are having due to most of them having children already or soon. I have started preparing for conception, stopped the pill, started vitamins, talked to the doctor, reading up talking to friends. I am excited about it because I feel that I am ready. I just have one worry, that is I am worried because we are young that if we go ahead and start trying and get pregnant, that my husband might resent me or the baby because of the things he might have to give up or sacrifice(video games, nights out, ect...). He says he's ok with everything, but its just a nagging worry in the back of my mind. We always worry about finances and things like that.
I do feel on the other hand that maybe I am being overly paranoid and nervous, about my hubby and about being prepared for a baby. I guess I am just hoping for the best for my family.
We have talked about trying in August/September. I don't want to talk my self out of it I just want to make sure we are doing the right thing right now.