Tablets to help stop smoking from the doctor - Zyban

Wobbles

BnB Co-Founder ~ Retired
Reaction score
Anyone used them?

Did they work for you or not?

Were they Zyban or another?

:kiss:

I work as a dispenser in a pharmacy and must say that we rarely dispense this drug to people trying to give up smoking,where as we do dispense alot of Champix (varenicline),Im not sure whether this is just the Doctors/smoking nurses preference over the Zyban or what,will ask the pharmacist at work tomorrow about them.
My dad and friend used Champix last year to give up smoking and it worked well for them,they have both not smoked for over 9/10 months now.My dad's only side effect of the Champix was that it would interupt his sleep,he would randomly just keep waking up around 4am each night and not be able to get back off.He swears by them now though as he's tried to give up in the past before but been unsucessful.

I need to go see the quack and ask to do this so it might not be these I mention ...

I really need to try and quit.

Hey there,
Champix gets used more these days as it's newer, and has less side effects and contra-indications. It was also designed specifically as a Stop Smoking treatment, where as Zyban was originally an anti-depressant (people then noticed that they quit smoking while they were using it!)
Champix is a 12 week course of tabs, and you carry on smoking for the first week, but set a 'quit date' anywhere between your 8th and 14th day.
The most common side effects are nausea, sleep disturbances and weird dreams (!)
The doc might be reluctant to prescribe it if you have ever suffered from depression, or taken anti-depressants.
PM me if you need any more info :)
Hope this helps.
xx

Hey there,