Tdap vaccine-get it again??

atx614

Mom of 3
Reaction score
Hi all!

I got the tdap/dtap (can't remember which one, but the adult version of the whooping cough vaccine) while pregnant with my dd in August of 2013 when I was about 30 weeks. The vaccine is good for 7 years, but my dr says I should have it again at 30 weeks with this pregnancy to protect the baby. He says no one in my family needs to get it again since they all got it when I was pregnant to protect dd.

My question is, do you think it is ok to get it again so soon? If I already have it in my body. I am no vaccine expert for sure. Would love any advice, opinions, or experiences please!!

I've never heard of or had that vaccine. Did your doctor mention why you should have it again so soon? If you can't talk to your doctor about your concerns or don't trust him, maybe ask a different one or your midwife if its safe? x

It's the pertussis vaccine for whooping cough. He says it is recommended during each pregnancy to benefit the baby. It is recommended in the US between 27-36 weeks, is it not recommended in the UK? So basically he says I am protected, but baby is not. Luckily this will be a summer baby so after whooping cough season. Not sure what I will do. Any other one have a similar experience?

I think it's fine to get it again. I know my dr now told me that it is recommended to get it during every pregnancy, not for you, but for your baby. When you get an immunization, some of that immunity can pass through to the fetus, which is why it is so helpful. I had a Tdap shot last winter when i was pregnant, and i'm pretty sure i will get one at my next appointment as well.

My baby is going to be born in April, and hopefully whooping cough season will be over, but i'd rather be safe than sorry with a newborn, so I plan on getting it.