Temping Newbie

MissMiki

2nd Tri with #1
Reaction score
Hi all!

After a discussion with my other half last night we have now ordered a BBT thermometer. However I do not have a clue what I should be doing, can anyone recommend any good sites? Or give any tips?

What should I be looking out for?
When do I test?

This is not something I ever thought I'd have to do but approaching 3 years TTC we are now going to pull out all of the stops!

I got mine of amazon. Not sure if its good or not! But we shall see! Good luck!! :)

Hi Hun I'm temping for the first time this cycle. So I'm no expert but I can tell you everything I know or have been told.
1, you have to temp the same time every day. So I work shifts every other week I get up at 5am so I set my alarm for 5am every day.
2, you have to move as little as possible before you temp. So don't get out of bed don't sit up don't go the toilet. Taking your temp should be the first thing you do.
3, you can either take your temp vaginal or orally. (I take mine orally)

Any question ask away xx

Hi sweet, good luck, I found temping to be so good for ttc, First I would suggest you register with fertility friend, you can use this free with limited access but the access you do have is all you need. You record your temperatures on this every day along with things like your cervical mucus and opk's if using them which I suggest you do along with temping to optimise your chances as temping only tells you after you ovulate and opk's tell you when your approaching.

For example I use opk's from calender day 12 and I have a gradual increase (not everyone does) but I normally ovulate anywhere between calender day 16 and 20) when I see my line starting to get darker on the opk I get it on with hubby lol until i see my temperature spike which tells me I have ovulated.

I tried for over a year ttc and it was only when I started temping and using opk's I could pinpoint the important times for baby dancing.