The Open University and Distance Learning thread

tallybee

DS '04, DD '06, DD '15
Reaction score
Hi all - I've seen quite a few threads about Open Uni and other distance learning, so thought I'd start up a general thread on the subject! Anyone wanting to discuss course choices/options, financial help, juggling studies with home life, work and other responsibilities - all welcome :thumbup:

I've been studying with the O.U. since 2007, and hope to graduate with a BSc (Hons) Open degree next year. My subjects of interest are just too random for a 'named' degree :blush:

I have completed : D240 Counselling: exploring fear and sadness (2010)
S216 Environmental science (2010)
S250 Science in context (2009)
S103 Discovering science (2007)

I am currently studying : U316 The environmental web (2011)
SDK122 Challenging obesity (2010)
SDK228 The science of the mind: investigating mental health (2010)

To complete my degree I'll be doing : S283 Planetary science and the search for life (2011)
S330 Oceanography (2012)
S366 Evolution (2012)

Hope to hear from some others with their experiences of the joys of open learning!

Hiya! :)

I'm currently doing SK120 - Diabetes Care.
So far i'm part way through my first assignment, i'm finding it challenging but not horrendous, it's definitely getting my brain back into gear!
I am counting it towards a Certificate in Health Science. I'm also going to college in September to retake my GCSE's, then doing an Access to HE the following year in hope of going to Uni to do Paramedic Science (sorry i went off topic there)

I'm hoping to do Human Nutrition next :)

Hey ladies!

I started with the OU last summer(ish) can't actually remember! I did want to do one of the business degree's, but now I've done a couple of courses I'm not so sure. I've so far done:

DB123 - You and your money (personal finance in context)
B120 - An introduction to business studies - (waiting for my results on this one!)