Things to do before TTC?

NextYear

Reaction score
Hello

Thanks again for the responses I got yesterday. What a lovely friendly board :hugs: I will do my best to answer questions when/if I can but I'm very new to this and not even TTC right now!

As per the subject, I'm wanting to find out what I should be doing before TTC. We plan to start approx 10-12 months from now and I want to make sure me (and DH where appropriate!) are in the best of health etc before starting.

So, I read I should be eating more dark green leafy veg (with folates in such as spinach) as an example. Anything else? More exercise would probably be a good idea lol.

I'm actually a little underweight for my height so is that something I should be concerned about?

Cheers for any tips and advice and sorry if any of this sounds dumb!
- NextYear

Start taking a prenatal multivitamin, or at least folic acid before ttc. Exercise is always a good idea, just don't try to be a weightlifting queen. :wacko:

Just try and be in good health. try not to stress out too much.

Hope that helps.

Thanks for the advice. Yes I know I'm probably worrying too much about it already, I guess I'm just impatient to be doing something towards :baby: time :)

i know the feeling...we've only on cycle #2 but I've been ready for a lot longer (ok, thinking I'm ready...there will always be surprises that I never even thought of!) and it seems like we've been trying for so much longer...but it will happen when it's supposed to happen.

Honestly if we could afford it and I was sorted with the right job (I'm currently applying for a new one as the one I'm in isn't paying me enough!) and we had sorted the house (hoping to move around easter next year), if that was all already done and dusted then I'd want to start now. DH said last night he is not quite ready personally anyway but believes he will be in by the time we've got all that sorted.