Vitex Messed Up My Cycle - Spotting!!

lil_abi

Reaction score
Hi Girlies, I'm a newbie here with a small question I'm hoping you can help me with..

I've been taking vitex (agnus cactus) for the last 4 months as I believed it to be a 'fertility booster' - especially to help build up progesterone levels. I only take it after ovulation up to a few days before my period. But from the first month taking it, I noticed some light spotting during the luteal phase - nothing which really worried me. Then over the last 3 months, this unusual spotting has steadily grew worse and this cycle I experience breakthrough bleeding which may even be an early period - I guess I need to wait and see. The only benefit I've had is super high temps after ovulation. So I decided to chuck out the vitex and stick to the B6 pills.

So my question is, has anyone with regular cycles experienced any irregularities while taking vitex?

Here's my chart:
https://www.fertilityfriend.com/home/370b7d

i haven't taken this myself, but was thinking about it until i read the reviews on it. i have regular cycles and was just looking for something that might boost my fertility. from the reviews, it appears to work very well for women with irregular cycles. the reviews are mixed for women with regular cycles. alot of women with regular cycles described situations very similiar to yours after taking vitex. maybe you should stop taking it and see if your cycles go back to normal. since you had none of these problems before, i would think its the vitex causing it. also, if you feel you have low progesterone, the progesterone cream may work better for you. maybe you want to ask you dr about it. good luck!

I tried it one month and I had almost constant positive OPKs so I stopped taking it. its not for those who ovulate on their own.