waking after night feeds?

T

tinytoes

why has my LO (4.5 months) started waking after each night feed? He used to just wake, make noises so I came to feed him, and then he'd doze off while feeding and I could pop him back into his bed. It was perfect. He's never had a problem working out night and day.

Now for the ast 2 nights as soon as I put him down - bing! - his eyes are open and he's gurgling. Takes an hour ish top get him back off if I^'m lucky. Used to be 20 mins between me waking and clambering back into bed having fed him and him dozing off. Have I had it too good so far???

He used to have one night feed now it's two.
in fact, at one poitn some time ago he used to sleep through 11 till 6 or 7!...

Whats going on??

I'm by no means a bfing expert but I know that with Alasdair sometimes I'd put him down after a feed just for him to wake up again and he'd still be hungry. I'm guessing though, that if he's going back to sleep after an hr, it's not that :(

Apart from the normal keeping everything quiet and dark I don't really know anything that would encourage him to sleep again! Have you asked your HV/Dr?

I know that babies are meant to go through a massive growth spurt around 4 months, so maybe it's just that and eventually he might settle down again.

:hugs: you must be shattered!

Use to be on 1 night feed now 2? Usually the other way round ....do you think hes hungry or comfort? You could try offering water through the night Ive seen many suggest this but never actually tried or needed to myself.

Caitlyn has started wanting more feeds during the night and I think it's comfort. Doesn't bother me as such although I'd much prefer she didn't lol. I found her comfort blanket usually makes her sleep longer which means she feeds less. Does he have a comforter? Pacifier or blanket?