When is it OK to stop working?

Piper84

Reaction score
I'm a freelancer and told myself that I would stop work a month before the baby is due, which is in a couple of weeks. I work from home but from 8.30-5.00 normally, and sometimes later, so I'm looking forward to having the time to tidy things up and get things sorted.

Anyway, I have really bad SPD, am knackered and just feel like crap. If I was working as a salaried employee I would have a set time when I could stop or get signed off by the doctor, but at the moment I am the only one to judge when it's right!

I've earned the amount I intended to before stopping working so it would be possible in theory. Currently I'm doing contracts which I will just invoice in the next fiscal year.

I'm wondering what you ladies think: is it laziness to just stop now?

Nope not lazy at all I will officially start my mat leave next Monday (11 weeks before my expected week of childbirth which is the earliest you possibly can leave) but I have had 2 weeks holiday tagged on before hand so my last day was when I was 26 weeks.
And I felt well, I didn't need to leave for any reason other than not wanting to be there.
I am not going back though so it's not like I need to save the max time for after the baby is born.
x

when u feel ready is what i suggest, i finished work with 2 months to go before baby best thing i did!!!

When you feel ready is the time to stop. I finished at 32 weeks due to SPD, and i definitely felt ready to finish then. I don't think it's laziness.

you should stop work as soon as it is making you uncomfy hun you are not being lazy at all and dont let anyone tell you otherwise your body i going through a lot of changes at the min and could do without any extra stresses etc from work xx