when to introduce a bottle?

Jaymelynn

Reaction score
I am ebf-ing my baby, but I would like to introduce a bottle for occasional use with pumped breast milk. I am not going back to work until he is about 3.5 months, but I heard that you should not wait too long to introduce a bottle. I do not want to stress right before returning to work about getting him used to a bottle. Also I would use a bottle if I ever need to go somewhere without my LO for a few hours before I return to work. Right now he is only 2.5 weeks, so I do not want to cause nipple confusion. Is there a "right time" to start a bottle?

I'm no expert on this, but I plan on introducing bottles and pacifiers when baby is 1 month old. We're taking a flight out of town at 1 month of age exactly to visit my relatives and I want him to be able to suck a pacifier on the plane and have my relatives help with caring for him and feeding him.

went to our doctor this morning and he said to start introducing a bottle now (2 months old) otherwise I'd be a prisoner. That said with my daughter I waited till 2,5 months, started giving her a bottle now and then and she gradually started preferring a bottle, not breast. So instead of breastfeeding, I ended up pumping a lot (hate it!!) and dealing with all kinds of issues (bottles, warming up, defrosting, supplementing etc. etc.). So I am thinking maybe give it at 3 months this time and only give it every 3-4 days.

By three months, my son simply refuses the bottle. If you're already pumping, I would start now, and maintain it every day at the same time so they don't forget, like my son did.

My baby won't take a bottle yet. I've tried two or three times but I just get a clamped mouth and a pouty "that is NOT boob!" look. I've bought a Doidy and will be giving that a go in a month or so instead.