Why is induction bad?

sassymrsbee

Reaction score
I have no experience with this, this is my first baby and even though my mom has had 9 children she has never been induced so she doesn't have any experience to give me either. I see a lot of women posting on here about how to induce labor naturally and how they are doing everything possible to avoid being induced. I guess I am just naive about it because I don't understand why induction is bad???
I understand completely wanting to go into labor naturally but if it doesn't happen and you are 42 weeks +, what are the reasons you wouldn't want to be induced?
I appreciate any advice, like I said I really have no clue so I feel like I need to know this information!! :)

Induction can be more painful (especially if you have the pitocin drip). You're more likely to need intervention (such as an c-section) if you're induced and there is an increased chance (but I don't know the statistics) of complications for LO or mummy such as fetal distress and passing meconium. These things are more likely if you're induced early though, and if you're not favourable for labour (i.e. no dilation, no effacement).
But induction doesn't automatically = horror story, lots of ladies are induced and have great deliveries (myself included :)) x

I've been induced with both of my little ones, and they were just fine.

I will be honest and say I don't know the reasons it is "bad", but I was induced with my first daughter. I was a week over due and while she had some issues with decels between contractions, it was overall a fine experience. Things moved faster than if I went naturally, but I was prepared for that. I would do it again if needed.

I've been induced with both of mine and will be induced at 38 weeks again but both inductions took 3 days from start to finish. It can put stress on the baby resulting in a section which is why some people want to avoid inductions.