Worrying about money

Nafretili

Mummy & Pregnant
Reaction score
There's so much to do before baby is born and I don't know how it's going to get done!

I stress about money too, my husband and I don't have a very high combined income. I worry about buying things, how we're going to pay for child care, etc. It's scary to think about but I know it'll work itself out in the end :flower:

I'm in the same boat, if i didn't have money worries i'd be alot happier, but like previous poster said, it will all work out in the end.

Yeah I can't wait to have everything prepared and ready but its a saving battle against time for us! x

I'm a grad student, so I live off loans. OH used to make a very good salary but was laid off 2 years ago, and hasn't been able to find a paying job since then (he works in return for equity and experience at a start up that may never get off the ground). We have too much in investments (his 401k, and some stocks I inherited from grandparents) to qualify for any public assistance, but thank goodness we have personal resources! It's easy to worry when the economy is so bad, and I know others have it a lot worse than us. What I plan to do is check places like Freecycle and Craigslist for hand me downs and trust that everything will come together. OH has even had a few interviews lately, and I'm hoping that will lead to a job.

I'll keep my fingers crossed that we'll all make it work, somehow. I think a little creativity can go a long way.

You could try asking around relatives/friends, for any second hand baby things. On our 1st pregnancy, me and my OH bought most of our baby essentials for £100 off a friend of a friend. I got a bath, cot and mattress, moses basket, swing, play mat and some other things which were all m&p nearly new's for that. You could check out ebay for bargains too. A lot of things which don't even make it out the packaging, get on there for cheap prices. x x x