Any one use OPK'S?

lozzy21

Mummy to Niamh
Reaction score
Dose any one use OPK'S?

I know im a long ay off and planning on NTNP but im thinking about getting some just to make sure everything is working IFKWIM.

How do you use them? :blush: Apart from peeing on them.

I have a box I'm going to start soon but like you I'm not exactly sure how they work and I don't want to waste them since they're a bit pricey....

Can any one give us an idiots guide to OPK's?

Im pretty new to the opk world too but I have started using them for about 5 days a cycle (I have done for the last 2 cycles anyways),like you I thought id make sure everything seems ok ovulation wise as we want to start ttc next year.What I do is start using the opks once a day for the five days up to ovulation and gradually see the lines get darker each day.This month I did ovulate a couple of days later which I wouldnt have known if I hadnt have used the opks so they are good for pinpointing Ovulation.

I use persona so not exactly the same, but I think you just pee on them for about 3 secs first thing in the morning. If there's one line they're working but you're not ovulating at the moment, if there's two lines you're about to or have just ovulated. You should ovulate 10 to 12 days before you AF, so use them around that time if your cycles are regular and you know when that is likely to be.
Hope that helped a little but do check the label of whatever you're using.

Erm another silly question but where do i get them from?

Im wanting to use them more to make sure i am ovulating in the first place. Do they come with instructions?

Id like to start using them when i come off pill but dont quite understand how they work or how much they cost...So your not the only one who doesn't get them lol :laugh2:

I get mine off ebay as you can buy them in bulk cheaply.