Anyone get delayed by atypical glandular pap?

missarcasm

Reaction score
This is my first time posting here. I hope someone can give me hope.

After 2 chemical pregnancies, we decided to try once more naturally, then if that didn't work, move on to clomid and iui with our next cycle. I'm 38 and obviously we feel pressed for time.

The same day I got my negative hpt result, I found out that I had an abmormal pap - but not the common "atypical squamous cell" kind. A more rare and more aggressive kind, called "atypical glandular cells of endocervical origin." All my research led to only fear and dread, no comfort.

Now instead of starting the new year hopeful and moving forward with clomid and iui, I will have to take at least a month off, to get a colposcopy and biopsy to see if I have cervical cancer, and unknown possible treatment, which I don't know how it will affect my reproductive organs, fertility, etc.

I hope someone has experience with this, and can give me hope for the new year.

Missarcasm, I am so sorry for your losses and about the pap results. I don't have any experience with the glandular cells type, but over the years I've had several abnormal paps (ASCUS, CIN I and dysplasia) resulting in two colposcopies, two biopsies and two cryosurgeries. My last one was in '97 so it's been a while, but I will never forget the dread and fear that came with every single bad pap, and how even now, after 15 years, I still hold my breath waiting for my pap results and celebrate every single good one like it's my first.

My guess is that the first thing your dr will want to do (and if he doesn't, I'd ask for it) is to repeat the pap smear to confirm the results. False positives on paps are very very common, as they can be caused by anything from human error in the lab to what cycle day you were on when the pap was done.