are there any parents on here with a teen who has ADHD?

princesspie

Reaction score
Hi all, this is my first time on this part of the forum, My 15 year od son has ADHD/ADD. im at my wits end!!! he is making mine,my husbands and 3 other childrens life a missery!! he is stealing, lieing, getting agressive ect. i cant go on like this, i dont know what to do any more!!!:cry: he is bigger than me and i simply cant control him any more. just wondered if any one else is going through anything like this with a teen?

does your son also have a diagnosis of conduct disorder and is he on medication?

sorry hun, i dont know what conduct disorder is and no he isnt on meds, he was a few yrs ago but he had to be taken off them because he wasnt eating and was refussing his blood tests, he wouldnt take them now anyway, he thinks he doesnt need meds :( im not so sure :(

is he diagnosed? that sounds like a poorly behaved child to me. =/
sounds like he needs better discipline...not to be rude at all of course :flower:

Hi,
My son has recently been diagnosed with adhd & we are still waiting on the aspergers assessment, he has just turned 13. He is medicated but its only whilst at school but i can sympathise with you. He is as big as me now & although can be aggressive its never towards me but that maybe because i can see the signs so stop it before it escalates. With him we have found that a strict routine & being pretty heavy on the discipline (ie never backing down with say taking away the xbox or computer time) works best & if he is feeling angry finding out the cause & a way to solve it helps.