Before, instead of, or after?

kate.m.

Mummy to Travis
Reaction score
Right ladies, im after advice here! I know what id rather do, but im curious as to what other people would do in the same situation...

Me and hubby had planned on ttc in "about a year" which would mean Jan 2010. But recently, we've started planning a big holiday to florida with a big group of friends. This holiday would be in August 2010 to coincide with school holls, as i am a teacher.

Now, i did the figures the other day, n if we started to ttc in jan 10- it is likely that i would be pregnant when we go. I could either be heavily pregnant, or only just pregnant, depending on how long it takes! However, if we wait untill after august 2010, that adds another 8 months onto our ttc date! which means we might not have kids for another 3 years!!!

But we could start trying now, and take the baby on holiday with us?

So my question is: would you wait to ttc after the hol in august 10, ttc straight away, or ttc when origionally planned, but maybe have to cancel the holiday?

I would TTC whenever it feels good, and if it coincides with the holiday, and should the worst moment of pregnancy coincide with the holiday you could always not go or go another time. (TTC 1 holiday 0)

I know, you are talking to one obsessed WTT woman here, who is obviously going to :gun: anything that comes between TTC and you

I know how you feel, we want to do some travelling and things, but also want a baby in the next couple of years. I'd try now and if you're not pregnant by a certain point wait till after (or during) your holiday, depends on how you feel about taking a baby to Florida. It'll be hot then, lots of naps and nappy changes in theme parks!

I would also add that it depends on how much you can afford to wait. Obviously the younger you are, the more time you have and it wouldn't be important to put off TTC because you have other priorities if you have bags of time to TTC