Changing contraceptive - advice

hulahoop09

Mum to lg and pg #2
Reaction score
Hiya

Okay so up til when I got pregnant last year I had been using ovranette (combined pill) for almost 9 years. I then had lo and started back on the pill in november last year I think it was. I used to be really good at taking it but have had days where I have forgot to take it for a day or so :dohh: My sex drive is RUBBISH so we dont DTD much anyway :haha: so I havent been at risk of pregnancy. Anyway. I was considering changing to the Depo injection. Like the pill I see the pros and cons. I have suffered from depression anyway and have low libido so dont see it could make those much worse :haha: but also see it can cause weight gain (as can the pill) and this for me is one of the worries as since having lo I have not only lost the 16lbs I gained I have also lost another 13lbs! :happydance: I was just wondering if I havent put weight on with the combined pill what are the chances I will with this. Also worried about risk of pregnancy although doctor said the % of protection is as good as the pill. Also worried about having a continuous period although since having lo my periods have been heavy, painful and terrible moods and doctor said it could help these symptoms.

So ladies would you recommend a change?

xx

Have you considered the implant rather than the injection? The only reason I'd avoid the injection is if you do get side effects you have to wait for the injection to wear off, with the implant you can take it out and be back to normal quicker.

I have considered the implant but the thought of it maled me feel sick! Lol. Doctor mentioned coil but I have had problems with my cervix and had to have cells removed etc and so dont want to mess. Lol. Forgot to say I did go on the mini pill after having lo but got headaches but seems they were related to my hormones or vitamin d deficiency as I have had them again over the past couple of weeks. Xx