coming off the pill

lauraebrad

Reaction score
Hi
I'm completely new to all of this.
Am 29 and been married nearly 5 years - never imagined that I would get broody, but in the last few months everythings started to change.
We've talked and DH suggested trying in Jan 09 so we have chance to get used to the idea!
I've been on the pill for over 10 years and have 4 packs left. I've read that you shouldn't start to try straight away after coming off the pill, but what do you use as contraception in that time - surely using condoms would get a bit tedious:huh:

Any ideas on this one?

I came off the pill had a 32 day cycle then got my :bfp:. I know some peoples bodys take time to adjust.

If u can u are better using another method to be on the safe side

Welcome to wttc:happydance:

I was on the pill for 10+ years. Came off in January when I ran out. We didn't use any contraseptives for the first month, just skip that week, and then got :bfp: the cycle after that. I really did think it would take a bit more effort :rofl:

Hi Laura! :hi:

When I went in for my pre-pregnancy check up a few weeks back, my doctor advised it is not absolutely necessary to wait to TTC after you get off BCPs. The only reason they recommend this is because it may be more difficult to determine the due date of the baby if you do become pregnant your first cycle off. In addition, she said that a lot of women are VERY fertile their first cycle off BCPs, so you may just hit the jackpot! :happydance:

I know when I finally stop my pills, I'm not planning on worrying about waiting a cycle or two - if it happens, it happens! :rofl:

Thanks everyone - that makes me feel better - I thought we were going to have to hang around for a few months!