Confession.. it's a boy and I feel guilty :(

vitriolic_vix

Mother of 1
Reaction score
I'm so happy that my baby is healthy as I've been so worried this pregnancy. My last one was awful and it's taken me a long time to think about getting pregnant again. To put my mind at rest I had a 16 week scan and we were told that we're having a boy. My husband is over the moon and my little girl is putting on a brave face as she really wanted a sister.

I'm so ashamed to say that I feel a bit meh about it. I never imagined myself having a boy. I'm not very good at being patient and worry about how I'll be with a rowdy boy who plays trucks and dinosaurs. We have a small house and the kids are going to have to share until we can afford to move which will be at least 4 years I'm worried how my girl will find it sharing. I'm being irrational and have no idea why I'm not more excited :cry: what's wrong with me??? :cry:

It's just not what you expected that's all. New things can get a while to get used- not that your little one is a 'thing!'

Fwiw, my kids get on better with their opposite sexed siblings than the same sexed, I wouldn't worry about sharing either- she will love having him in with her ☺️

Its very normal to have more of a desire for a certain gender for a million reasons! Little boys are the most loving little people ever, you will all fall head over heels with him when he arrives, I am completely envious! Congratulations xx:)

I sympathize. I have a feeling I am having a boy and would much rather have another girl. I know whatever I have I will love and it will be great- but it is hard right now. *hugs* Don't feel bad or beat yourself up over how you feel.