Does anyone else have a physically demanding job?

venusflytrap

Reaction score
Hi. I work at Michelin Tire so I have a physically demanding job. I drive a forklift and load, as well as drive, tractor trailers. So I am constantly bumping around on concrete floors and on and off trailers. I also do a lot of pushing and pulling to open and close the trailer doors. Plus on top of all that I work shift work days and nights 12 hour shifts. I am just wondering if anyone else seems to work as hard as I do and am wondering how long you were able to work for? My job doesn't want me to drive the forklift once my belly gets too large for fear of my hitting my belly on the steering wheel with all the bumping around I do. Are you finding the work hard? I am exhausted by the end of my shift! Just being curious.

Hi x
I am a chef so have to move big pans of soup/ veg etc around ( about 30litres at a time) I am on my feet all day around 9 hours, get every other weekend off so one 6 day one 4 day week, I also work part time on my weekends off. Cant help you on how long I will be able to work for as this is my 1st but hoping for as late as possible as I cant afford to take a lot of time off so would prefer it afte the birth!
I do get very tired, but have basically been having early nights! find i feel worse on my day off!!

P x

I have also noticed that after working my shifts, 2 days at a time, I take my first full day off work to sleep and relax because I am so tired from working. This weekend is backshift weekend for me, three 12 hour nights in a row, so Monday on my day off I will be too tired and feeling like crap to do much of anything. I am just glad I haven't had any MS because I haven't told the guys at work yet that I am pregnant. I am the only female in my shop, and the 1st ever pregnant person to work there. But I have to work twice as hard as the men because I always have to prove to them I can do the job without any help. But I do love it!