Got a letter from work

3011busyyear

Reaction score
So I went into work 2weeks ago and discussed with my boss about coming back. He described how he had adapted the role and that there was much more of a full time job now, I was a bit bored before!
I asked him if I could do two days from home and left it with him to ta ot through with the other boss. He's on holiday now until next week, btu I sent an email summarising our meeting and what I had requested.

Today I get a letter from hr saying my contract is due to end and that they aren't aware of any further funding to extend it. Erm he told me the week before that it would be extended for another year.
I don't know if this is just an automatic letter that has gone out at the 5months mark or if something has changed after I asked for flexible working :growlmad: I will go ape sh*t on them if that is the case. Grr at waiting until Monday to speak to them :growlmad:

We're you on a Permanant or Fixed Term contract?

I'm a HR Manager so might be able to help.

They absolutely cannot do this, they have already told you that it will be extended so they can't go back on their word now that you've asked for flexi.

You'll get thousands from them for unfair dismissal if they do!!!

Are you a member of a union? xx

Likewise, I too am in HR and just completed my Employment law module! A contract does not have to be in writing, and so if your boss implied that you woudl be coming back, adapted the role etc. you have a case. In addition regards flexible working, remember they only have to consider it, IF it woudl be to the detriment of the organiosation, or the role could not be done part time etc. they dont have to offer it. they do have to properly justify that, however, and not just say it.

You are legally entitled to return to the same role under the same terms and conditions. Hours etc...