How much maternity leave will you get/take?

LostandFound

Reaction score
Just wondering what other ladies' plans are for maternity leave? Also if you've had kids before, how much leave did you take and would you do it the same or differently?

I'm fortunate to live in Canada, so I will take my full legislated 52 weeks. I did with my son and it was awesome. If I could, I'd take two years - but they don't have to hold your job for more than a year, so one year it is.

Also in Canada here :) I will take the full year I'm allowed. Its my first... sometimes I think I won't make the full year, I love my job BUT pretty sure I'll love my baby more

I'm not sure how long I will take. I'm currently a supply teacher but I am working in just one school and the job is being made permanent, the application opens on Friday and I'm in with a good chance of getting it. It depends if they calculate my start date as the date I started doing the job or the date I was made permanent! If I'm not made permanent then probably up to Easter next year (5 months) with my oh staying at home after that, or if I get the full allowance then if probably take from October to the next January, so 15 months.

Wow you Canadians are lucky! Do you get to keep your job status with that long of leave?

I qualify only for 6 weeks and MAYBE up to 8 but that's only if it's manager approved.. plus it's unpaid. .. very worrisome :(

I took 12 weeks with each of my boys, but with both I worked from home 10 hours a week from 6-12 weeks to have a little income. The US sucks big time for maternity leave. I quit my job so that I could be with my kids because of it.

MnGmakes3 - don't you qualify for disability or fmla?

1 year as I am in Canada, plus I will probably be on government disability for the last 16 weeks of pregnancy. After that we will have to balance the childcare cost for twins against jobs I can get- I am currently unemployed and so I have no job to go back to.