How we baby wear in Africa

HBGirl

Reaction score
Our vet nurse couldn't organise child care on Sunday so be brought his daughter to work. No problem, even the men baby wear in Africa. :)

Attachments

• Wele.jpg
    Wele.jpg
    32.4 KB · Views: 113
Love this!!

I have a neighbour from Zimbabwe. She always carries her toddler just in a sheet on her back, no fancy baby carriers! She mows the lawn, washes the car and windows... Amazes me how much she does!!

I see plenty of men wearing babies here too. even though they are in meitais etc. You can see in SA or similar they just use a big towel.

Uh oh, handsome man, cute baby, cute poorly cat- woman hormone overload :haha:.

Uh oh, handsome man, cute baby, cute poorly cat- woman hormone overload :haha:.

:rofl:

There was a great thread on African babywearing in Natural Parenting a few years ago and there were all these amazing pictures of people just going about their day, there was one picture of a child babywearing, nuts! I don't know how you guys do it though, every picture I see the baby looks sooo low down, my lower back is aching just thinking about it! Lucas was carried so high he was practically on my shoulders :lol:

They nesstle into the small of your back. Quite comfy. He is strong though, she is one heavy baby. I had her on me for about half an hour and she nearly killed me!

Awww that's so lovely :cloud9: I wish it was more common here!

Wicked! I've seen some Black women locally not sure of their heritage/ethnic origin but wearing so casually with a blanket, sheet or towel - so cool!
Dh wears lo in the buckle carrier, I only wrapped when ds was small and he's a bit big for his ergo now.
Xx

I see plenty of men wearing babies here too. even though they are in meitais etc. You can see in SA or similar they just use a big towel.

My OH prefers to baby wear rather than use the buggy - which I rely on as I cant wear them due to my back :(

Could you be more specific as to where in Africa you are?