Is ultrasound a m/c risk?

inthemoment

Reaction score
Hi! My doula called me today and started giving me all sorts of frightening statistics about the risks of ultrasounds on the baby. I'm going in for my first on Tuesday (it'll be one day short of 8wks at that point) and she's telling me it's not a good idea. I've never worked with a doula/midwife before, have always gone the OB route with tons of u/s and beta draws and general interference, and it's never worked in 5 previous pregnancies (all have ended in m/c). Which is why I'd chosen to moderate my contact with the medical field and stick with more traditional approaches this time around. However, I'm having a hard time believing that an ultrasound will adversely affect the baby. Has anyone else heard anything about this? All input welcome.

I'm not sure but I do know a doula is suppose to offer support and advice but not scare you. Sorry she has frightened you :hugs:

I'm 13+1 and had 4 scans so far and everything is okay x

I personally find them safe. But you will find some on here that are on the same track as your midwife.

But for me, I see no harm in them and it jot like you get them everyday . A lot of women can have them as frequently as once a week if the considered at risk for various things

Never heard that before!

wondering if its true would they not have to tell you first and get your consent in writing before putting your baby at risk?

Whoever is helping you shouldnt be frighting you! there is no proven link to ultrasounds being unsafe and they have tested six ways to Sunday!

Enjoy your scan, have fun seeing your baby for the first time!