Learning how to ice skate?! UPDATE: Been on the ice :-)

aimee-lou

Totally Outnumbered!!
Reaction score
Right, I'm going for it. Seeing as first my husband and my 4yo and now my 19mo can all handle themselves on the ice, I'm risking being left behind, so I'm booking lessons.

However - I've never been on an ice rink in my life....well not in skates anyway! I'm petrified. I'm not the most co-ordinated of people, and I know I'm going to make a complete pigs ear of the whole thing. I know everyone falls over, but this is me. I get injured just looking at sporting equipment! :blush:

So, in the spirit of BnB, does anyone have any tips or advice for a complete novice like me. I'm unsure which skates to wear, whether or not to try before I start my lessons to get out without anyone with me, or should I ask hubby to come/one of his team-mates to help me? I'm not very good at being taught by people I know. I get very nervous and tend to tense up as I'm worried about disappointing people (silly, I'm 30 so shouldn't think like that but it's hard-wired).

I'm definitely taking the lessons (will book as soon as I can spare the £60) but my god, I'm seriously scared :argh:

You mean like casual ice skating ? I have never thought about it.... It's just something you do. I think some people have better balance than others though, and lessons are likely a good idea if you are planning on doing this alot ?

I have never had a lesson though, so you might find it easier than you think ? I thought it would be a nightmare, but the trick is just to not fall over :haha: My OH on the other hand, spends the entire time walking around clutching the side, if he lets go even for a second he falls on his butt!

My pet peeve though is the nasty ugly hockey player type skates they give you to loan. big bulky things that are too heavy to lift :dohh:

good luck i'm sure you'll be twirling around in no time :thumbup: