Mental Health in Pregnancy - Support Thread

M&S+Bump

M & S + Baby Joe = Family
Reaction score
Hi ladies :flower:

Seems to be a bit of a taboo subject but I'm sure I'm not the only one so thought I'd start a safe place to vent, discuss symptoms and get support for those of us who struggle with this.

I am newly pregnant with #4 and have struggled with depression ever since I can remember. It was dramatically worse post-partum with #1 and was officially diagnosed with PND after both #1 and #3.

I intend to stay on my medications for most of my pregnancy unless advised otherwise by my doctor (she has already cleared it but I will be monitored) - weaning off in third tri and back on post-partum if required.

Anyone else? How are all you ladies doing?

(I realise this is on the first tri board but not limited to just first tri - mods feel free to move it if it'd be better suited elsewhere)

What a fab idea. I'm a mental health nurse and it's fab to see honesty and openess with mental health.
I suffer myself with anxiety, ocd and bouts of depression it flares quite badly with hormones. I for one am staying on my medication throughout, fluoxetine. It has very very low minor risks associated which based on evidence they are not even sure is linked to the medication. My gp tried to take me off it as most gp's are not mental health trained so will just go off the medication leaflet, which as with 99% of medication will advise against. However speaking with consultants it's ok and I'm staying in my maintenance dose.

Medication isn't for everyone but in conjunction with my other talking therapies it works for me.

I just don't get the taboo if I had a physical illness there would be no medication slating if o continued those medication to keep me well so I see it in the exact same light for mental health.
I feel if we treat the two physical and mental as the same the stigma with mental health will end.