Physio, crutches & bedrest

N

Neecee

I had my GP appointment this morning and it's official - I have sciatica. It's been so bad I've had to sleep on the sofa the past 3 nights and I've really been struggling to walk.

My doc wanted to see how bad the pain was and asked me if I could take off my boots and try and touch my toes! I had to laugh, coz if I didn't, I'd have cried! He even had to help me take my boots off and on, and as for getting up on the examination table - forget that!

He's signed me up for physiotherapy now, and he said there's a possibility I'll need crutches to take the pressure off my hips and pelvis a bit. Failing that, if it gets worse, he's signing me off as 'unfit to work' and resigning me to bedrest. This is the part that I hate the most, as I'm a designer and the sciatica in no way affects my work! It's just that I have to get up 4 flights of stairs daily and occasionally see clients. I just hate the thought of being unfit to work. I've never been as ill and disfunctional in my life as I have been since getting pregnant. I'm not a happy bunny this morning :(.

:hugs: Unfortunatley youve got to do whats best for you, i know its crap but you dont need to be doing yourself or LO any more harm than good hun

I had the crutches a few weeks ago. Only thing that saves me is i am double jointed and could still walk but with difficulty. So no point on psyco for me they said, still hurts the odd time when I get up. Mine passed though when baby moved. I assume its to come back with a vengance though.

any chance you could work from home??? Hope it eases up soon, and you get some rest! xxx

Awww Neecee, sorry to hear you're haing a difficult time. You mustn't beat yourself up over work, just concentrate on feeling better and looking after yourself. Any chance of working on a project from home?

Lx