Possible Blighted Ovum, help with dates, needing hope and wisdom.

Voliveira

Reaction score
Hello ladies,

I am struggling because this is my first time being pregnant and it has not gone like I expected at all. Right now it is looking like I will be "celebrating" my birthday on Tuesday grieving what I thought would be my first child.

I first got two strong positive hpt on April 19th, and my LMP was 3/14-3/20. I have an average cycle length of 29 days, but with a history of longer cycle lengths up to 33 days.

After receiving the positive hpt I waited two weeks and visited the NP midwife, who dated me around 6 weeks. This was on 5/1/20. On "informal" ultrasound, she noted that there were no structures inside the gestational sac. She measured the sac at 1cm. She took my HCG numbers that day which were 13,000. Two days later my numbers were up to 18000.

At this point the NP was concerned I may have an ectopic pregnancy. I was sent for an ultrasound at an imaging facility, where I was told there was no implantation outside the uterus. At this point I decided to find an OBGYN to get a second opinion to see what's going on.

OBGYN ultrasounds me TV and is able to confirm there is no ectopic pregnancy, but she is still concerned because there is no yolk sac or fetal pole. Dr. did not measure the gestational sac at this visit. She sent me for an additional HCG test, where I was called the following Monday and told by the nurse "my levels were rising as they should". This was left on a voicemail for me so I didn't ask specifics on the number. I wish I would have.

I went back in for recheck ultrasound on Friday 5/15, and there is still no yolk or fetal pole. I also didn't think to ask for measurement of the sac. HCG was drawn to see if my numbers are rising. The doctor will then diagnose me with a Blighted Ovum at that time if my numbers are falling.