• Xenforo Cloud has scheduled an upgrade to XenForo version 2.2.16. This will take place on or shortly after the following date and time: Jul 05, 2024 at 05:00 PM (PT) There shouldn't be any downtime, as it's just a maintenance release. More info here

Talk to me about cloth!

lisaalove

Reaction score
Interesting in trying out cloth diapers. DH isn't too sure about it... actually he really doesn't like the idea but I want to try it!
Any and all information welcome as I'm completely new to this. Our son is now 12w old and he weighs 13 lbs 10 oz and we are in the US if that matters at all.
I don't want to go buying a bunch of cloth if we end up deciding it's not for us, does anyone know of free samples? (If that's a thing!)
Best kind?
Inserts?
What is this prewash I keep hearing about?
Detergent?
How often do you do the laundry?
How many would we need?

EDIT
so far I like the idea of pocket and AIO (more for hubbys sake as hes not quite on board yet)
he likes the sound of velcro where as I like the sound of snaps, personal opinions and prefrences?
I feeel like I would prefer one size instead of sized
Am I correct in that microfiber inserts are not supposed to touch baby himself?
Wetbags for out and about, worth it?
Do you still use disposable wipes or do you use cloth?
Thats all I can think of for now, TIA!

I'm nowhere near an expert but we use pockets and a couple of AIOs as I prefer that they seem to be slightly more slim fitting. There are a few selling sites that do trial packs of a few different nappy brands to try and then you can build up a stash of the ones that suit, although we have some (tots bots) that were rubbish initially and just leaked all the time but now they seem to work pretty well.