Trying to pretend I don't have it...

October2013

Mommy to a baby girl
Reaction score
Hi ladies. I'm a newbie, seeking some advice, support, and just venting a little, in a place where I don't feel like I'm being judged poorly.

Today was my gender scan, and although I'm overjoyed that baby is perfectly healthy, I can't shake this extreme disappointment of not having a boy. :(

I think where we went wrong was essentially 'planning' on having a boy... Obviously we knew it could go either way, but for some reason we NEVER discussed anything girl related. My bf and I both just really wanted a boy. We only talked about boy names, boy nursery themes, if he'd do martial arts with daddy, ect....
We never talked about girl names, and when I first found out I was pregnant, my bf was actually dreading the possibility of a girl. He said he didn't want a girl because, "the women in his family are crazy". After the scan today, he told me he was scared, because, "he had confidence that he could raise a good boy, but he doens't know what to do with a girl." He says he doesn't have gender disappointment, but I truly think he does. I wish he would just admit it, so we can share these feelings with each other, but I think he's just afraid of hurting my feelings.

For me growing up, I was not a very 'girly girl'. I was a huge tomboy, playing with my big brother, catching frogs, and climbing trees. When I finally did start playing with babydolls, I only wanted boy babydolls. When I was 16, I got my first puppy (a boy) and have only had boy dogs ever since. Since my teenage years, I've had more guy friends than girl friends.
I don't know what to do with a girl. I don't know anything about fashion, I can't do cute girl hairstyles...