US ladies-position during childbirth and other fears in hospital birth process

MonstHer

Reaction score
Does the hospital allow you to be in any position? I've heard of doctors/nurses trying to force you onto your back, and I really really don't want to do that.
Does the epidural make it that way?
(I don't want that either, but who knows)
Of course, I read on hospital guidelines but I am still uneasy.
They say they can't force you to do anything, but I don't believe it.
I'm giving birth in a military hospital overseas, and they can be VERY VERY demanding and controlling.
It's only going to be me and my husband in there, this is my first, and I don't want to lose control or have pushy bitchy nurses and corpsmen constantly on me to do it their way.
And then, as I used to work in a hospital, I know the majority of health providers do not take pregnant women seriously.
Is it really true they start inducing you at 12 hours?!?
WhYY??!?!
and should I wait for a long while at home after I go in, after my water breaks?
I really want minimal medicalisation. (sp?)
I know the answer to all of this would be to have a natural home birth or go to a regular birthing center.
I can't really do that as A,) I am Rh-neg. B.) NOTHING like that here except one off base, which is HUGELY expensive) C.) The child won't count as an american citizen at first, if not born in the U.S. hospital here! There will be ten gajillion types of papers to fill out, and even more problems to get the baby citizenship to the U.S. We don't have that time because three months later we are moving to the U.K. And D.) it's the only hospital with a NICU if something does happen!

So, as you can tell, I'm extremely aprehensive. :(
I feel like I have no options as I'm overseas, I don't have the cash or resources to go out of my insurance, and I'm terrified of the hospital. :nope:

Hi