washing cloth nappies

MadamRose

Mummy to 3 and WTT for #4
Reaction score
may sound like the most stupid questiona nd sorry if i do sound stupid byut what temp is recommended for washign nappies or does it vary for each type?

I'm keeping an eye on this thread because I'm new to reusables and was about to post a similar question...but also would like to know how to get rid of stains please! x

I wash at 40oC but with a cold pre-wash (no detergent for the pre-wash, 1/4 of the manufacturer's recommendation for the main wash) then another rinse at the end.

Different makes have different guidelines. I've seen it said recently that if you're using non-bio washing powder you should wash at 60 degrees and you can use 40 degrees if you use bio but I don't know where that advice has actually come from so I'm not sure how valid it is. I tend to wash at 30 or 40 with non-bio washing powder, but I do a cold rinse first (to lift stains and also to increase the level of water in the wash). I've never had any problems with this. If LO is ill or has thrush or anything, I wash at 60.

Some nappies (the ebay cheapies, that I know of) say 30 degrees max but I can't really see why. IMO a nappy should be able to stand up to 60 degrees as this is sometimes necessary from a health point of view.

Different makes have different guidelines. I've seen it said recently that if you're using non-bio washing powder you should wash at 60 degrees and you can use 40 degrees if you use bio but I don't know where that advice has actually come from so I'm not sure how valid it is. I tend to wash at 30 or 40 with non-bio washing powder, but I do a cold rinse first (to lift stains and also to increase the level of water in the wash). I've never had any problems with this. If LO is ill or has thrush or anything, I wash at 60.