When will you install carseat?

redneckhippy

Reaction score
When are you planning to install and get your carseat set up? I know around here they have places you can go to make sure they are installed correctly and I definately want to take advantage of that service, just not sure when that's normally done. I'm thinking maybe around 37 weeks?

I'm 38 weeks. Car seat not installed yet. Guess dh will do it while at hospital. I need the space in my car for my other two and my nephew right now. Mine has a base that needs to be installed but this is the first time I've ever had a car seat with a base. For my last two there was no "installing" cause all I had was a regular car seat that straps in with the seat belt and around here you have to carry baby out of hospital in a car seat.

I'm a car seat technician, so one of the people that would install at a clinic for you :)

We recommend 32 weeks. You could go early and sometimes they can't fit you in on a moment's notice.

We didn't get a chance to install our base so we're still just using the seatbelt. We forgot to pick up the car seat when we left to go to the hospital. My husband drove all the way back (40 mins) to get it, and then forgot to pick it up after sorting out the dog :dohh: I'd advise sooner rather than later haha. X

not until we are leaving the hospital it will be our 2 time using the car seat which is only 2 years old so we will be fine until then!

We installed our base weeks a go! :haha:
The car seat is currently sitting in the nursery, it's only the two of us so it's not like we need the space in the back seats. DH will be working away while I'm due too, so getting the seat out of storage will be one less thing to worry about when he has to rush home!

Yeah, we'll install it when we take baby out of the house for the first time, probably a few weeks after birth to see the midwives. I used the seat before for DD so we know how to install it easily.