27 weeker with menigitis?

BrittLeblanc

Pregnant 2nd trimster
Reaction score
Hey ladies. I have a friend who had her LO at 25 weeks like I did and she has been speaking with me for support. She called me today with something I never experienced with my LO. She said a few days ago they found that her LO had an infection and was having trouble breathing and had to be taking off of CPAP and placed back onto a vent. They just recently found that her LO has meningitis of the brain and that they would be doing a scan on the baby monday to see the severity of it. They told her it could cause the baby to be blind deaf of even possibly lose her LO. I told her I would ask my support group for some stories on others premies that possibly had this.

Oh God I have no experience but I hope everything turns out well for your friends little one x

we had this experiance when Ellie was 3 days old as she had an "episode" where she couldnt breath on her own, we were told if she did havie it the changes of her surviving were next to none as she was so so young, but she never had it just a really bad infection and needed antibiotics for a good 2 weeks xx

I don't know honey but I hope it turns out ok for your friend. x

Hi , I probably have not been on this site for over a year two but being fairly bored at work today decided to logon and look at the premature baby section and saw your meningitis title.

My Daughter was born at 24 weeks 1lb 9oz and at 2 days old was diagnosed with Fungal Brain Meningitis . Brain meningitis can be treated with antibiotics and in fact she was on them for 8 weeks before she was given the all clear, it just took a while to clear in her case. She also had pda and the combination meant she was back on the ventilator for a short while. We did not mind as it meant she could put everyhting into fighting the infection, being on the ventilator helped her.