31 weeks with placental abruption - what to expect if baby delivered soon?

Ice Cold Cube

Mother of 2 and 3 angels
Reaction score
Hi everyone

I'm new in this section - usually I'm found hanging around in the toddler forum but I'm 31 weeks pregnant with baby no 2 (pregnancy no 5 as my first 3 ended in mc) and have been suffering placental abruption on and off for 2 weeks now. I've been hospitalised due to the continual bleeding and resulting anemia, and if I have another big bleed we'll definitely be going for emergency section. If things settle down, baby will be delivered by planned section at 36 weeks.

So I'm just waiting and praying that I don't have any further bleeding, but I have no idea what to expect if baby does need to be delivered just now at 31 weeks. I had a growth scan 10 days ago and baby was 50th percentile for weight, which was great news for us as my son was below the 10th when he was born at 39 weeks. I know these scans can be quite unreliable though.

At 31 weeks, will I be able to hold my baby girl after she's born? Is she likely to be able to breathe? I've had the steroid injections to help with that already. Should I invest in some prem baby clothes? Would she even be able to wear clothes at 31 weeks?

I feel so lost when I think of what it will be like when she arrives. It's going to be so different from the birth of my son 2 years ago.

Any advice or insights anyone can offer would be fantastic. Congratulations to you all on your own pregnancies and extra special babies.

Laura x

My girls were born at 29+5, so just a little behind where you are now. They are currently 5 weeks old (almost 35w gestational age).