abscess- Do i HAVE to go to a dentist?

missk1989

Reaction score
I have an abscess. I dont think i can get out of work until thursday to see a dentist. Is there an alternative treatment? I can barely eat with it at the moment so dont want to leave it totally untreated.

Ring NHS direct and see if you can get an emergency appointment at any dentist. They usually hold emergency clinics on a night to cover the area (at least here they do).

You will need a course of antibiotics so not sure if you could just see a GP? Probably not with it being in your mouth. Again, maybe ring NHS Direct for advice?

As pp said ring NHS u can get night appointment for emergencies

I had an absess and was turned away from the emergency dentist, anyway, I popped it with a pin, gross I know, and squeezed all the puss out and it felt a mile better xx

i rang and they have said it does not require an emergency appointment so to go to a dentist monday. I cant get there until thursday but it doesnt hurt right now anyway so will see how i feel.

Is it a gum boil? Salt water rinses will help especially if it pops

Doing lots of salt rinses like ^^^^ said. It draws the infection out, so if you have to wait until Thurs it might help.

Is there no way you can get an hour off work to get it sorted?

i had one before & popped it, then did salt water washes. it was fine 2 days later x

Honestly I had lots that were ok and one time I woke up with a hamster face. It had travelled To my jaw and my god it was the worst pain I have ever ever felt and was in tears for a week. Even needed 3 lots of antibiotics to shift it. Please never leave an absess.

Doing lots of salt rinses like ^^^^ said. It draws the infection out, so if you have to wait until Thurs it might help.

Is there no way you can get an hour off work to get it sorted?