Anybody use a butcher's?

Pearls18

Reaction score
I've heard some people going to a butcher's and buying a month's worth of meat...I'm tempted to try that this pay day as we always use supermarket meat. But I've never done it before, does anyone do this? Do butcher's do like a package thing....or do you just select a bunch of stuff...I don't know lol...now mchn does it usually cost roughly?

Some butchers do bulk packages :) some don't..

Our local farm shop does a BBQ pack for £25. - sausages, chicken, burgers and ribs.

I get my joints from the butchers, separately. Best thing you can do is go to the butchers for a chat, they're always very helpful :) x

I do shop at the butchers but don't buy a months worth. I buy the following:-

1lb Bacon - £2.80ish
1lb Sausages - £3ish (They have about 10 flavours to choose from)
1lb mince - £3ish
Or you can buy a bundle of all three above + 6 eggs for £10.

Whole chickens are around £5
Burgers are around £3 for 4.

My husband is a butcher in a little local village butchers. I would say plan ahead with what you want and have a budget to stick to then speak to the butcher - they'll be more than happy to try to accomodate your needs into your budget, perhaps suggest cheaper alternative cuts etc.

Also I have found if you look at the cost alone it seems expensive, eg at my Hubby's shop a single chicken breast is about £2.50-3 which in my book is expensive, but when you compare the sheer size to that of a single breast from a pack in a supermarket its about twice the size!! (I could get us a meal each out of one breast! And still have some to freeze if I was cutting it up for a sauce or curry ect)