Calling all those with heavy jobs

Jadie

Reaction score
All those that are on their feet most of the day and heavy work etc... When do you plan to go on maternity leave? Do you have a choice?

Anyone with previous pregnancies when did you leave?

I'm a nurse on a busy medical ward and I'm knackered already! 30 weeks tomorrow... My belly, feet and back ache after every shift. I work 9 shifts a fortnight and plan to up until 36 weeks as I'm not entitled to any paid maternity leave. When bubs is born we can claim the baby bonus but from 36 weeks ill have to take my only holidays I have which will cover two weeks, ill take that evenly over 4 weeks tho to take me until bubs is due. I'm just panicking about how we will cope with such a drop in income :( why is life so hard

I work 10 hour shifts and I work a receiving job (on my feet the whole time constantly moving and lifting.) I worked up until 38 weeks. I was horribly tired each night but I was able to make it until then.

I'm a nurse too. I was working two long shifts a week at 12 hours each. Planned to go as long as possible to 36/37 weeks but I stopped at 32 weeks as just couldn't handle it anymore. The back and bump ache. Plus was getting constant braxton hicks. How come you don't get mat leave?

All those that are on their feet most of the day and heavy work etc... When do you plan to go on maternity leave? Do you have a choice?

Anyone with previous pregnancies when did you leave?

I'm a nurse on a busy medical ward and I'm knackered already! 30 weeks tomorrow... My belly, feet and back ache after every shift. I work 9 shifts a fortnight and plan to up until 36 weeks as I'm not entitled to any paid maternity leave. When bubs is born we can claim the baby bonus but from 36 weeks ill have to take my only holidays I have which will cover two weeks, ill take that evenly over 4 weeks tho to take me until bubs is due. I'm just panicking about how we will cope with such a drop in income :( why is life so hard