Do you ever wish that the women who fought to be able to work hadn't?

NellyLou

Reaction score
Don't get me wrong, I love my job. I just sometimes feel that if I had the choice I would prefer to stay home with my children until they go to school. Do you think if women years ago hadn't fought to be allowed to work that maybe families would still be able to make ends meet on one income? I work as an engineer in a male dominated career so obviously I am ultimately thankful for what the women before us accomplished. But where I live the cost of living is so high that we really have no option but to both work.

Yes and no I see where your coming from but on the other hand women fought for equal pay we have always had to work when the men weren't getting paid enough to support his family, had left his wife and children or even died in an accident/illness. I think in an ideal world minimal wage should cover living costs to allow the choice.

OH yeah, that is very true. I have the idealistic view of moms in the 50s going to each others houses for tea while the kids play lol. It would be nice if everyone could survive on minimum wage. We both have great jobs and it's still hard. I have no idea how people on min. wage survive!

No, I would be one of the ones campaigning hard core if we still didn't have rights nowadays. I appreciate the choice, I choose to work. In the military with the cost of living so low there are a lot more SAHMs than on civvy street I'd guess, not for me. Or my mum. Or my grandmother. My grandmother would have killed for my life.

Yeah, I see what you mean MarineWAG. I just feel like it's gone too far the other way. I don't have the choice to stay home with my kids. There is no way we could just live on my husband's salary, and he makes good money.

I would never wish that, because that was also times when women were second class citizens, IMO.