First Pregnancy.. Er, what do I do?!

Fiora

Reaction score
Hey! :flower:

So, weird post to make. I found out I was pregnant 2 days ago. A complete shock, we were WTT for another 4/5 YEARS so safe to say this pregnancy is totally unplanned. I was on the mini pill (same brand I have been using for the last 6 years!) and came off around 2/2.5 weeks ago to await my period which never came. I had very real period pains and kept rushing to the loo expecting AF which never arrived and took a test purely based on a little niggle.

I suppose I'm around 6 or 7 weeks by this point, although I've made a Dr's appointment to find out more exactly. I'm fairly sure I conceived in the first week of july so I don't think my dates are too far off.

So, to get to the point of my post - wtf do I do?! I have a doctors appointment but it isn't for another 2 weeks. What am I not supposed to eat? I read I need to start folic acid, but how much? Any other vitamins?!

This is my first pregnancy, totally unplanned and totally unprepared. Babies were not even on my radar for another 4 years minimum so yeah, I need help! Sorry for being such a newb but at least you all seem really, really well informed.

Thank you xx

start on a prenatal vitamins not just folic acid. Do not take a normal multi vitamin, although cheaper they have the wrong combination of vitamins and none of some of what you need.

Stop alcohol and caffeine for sure though. Although some believe a little is ok I believe none is the best.

It's your body and your baby in the end so it's up to you!

Ah the vitamin advice is helpful, thank you! I haven't actually seen prenatal vitamins but I suppose I've never looked for them :blush: I'm going to Holland & Barratt's tomorrow for the Folic Acid so I'll pick some up then.

Thankfully I stopped drinking tea about 3 months ago and swapped for Miso soup (which I now cannot stand the smell of!) so I don't have to go through the tea withdrawal again, it was awful lol.