Hospital Bag Necessities

DSemcho

Reaction score
So I know I am a few weeks awY from third trimester, however the last 8 weeks before baby is due is going to be super hectic due to use moving back to the USA (getting our household goods shipment from overseas, our unaccompanied baggage and our vehicle!) So I'm going to be getting my hospital bag ready in May - so ladies what did/do you feel is a necessity to have in a hospital bag - aside from what you put in the diaper bag.

I've no experience yet, but have read through a lot of lists, and biggies that have been repeated over and over that I've tossed in my bag: hair ties, chapstick, basic toiletries, brush, chargers, a zip up hoodie, and loose clothing to wear home. Hospitals here in the US provide pads, gowns, mesh undies, diapers, wipes, etc, so you don't need to worry about those things.

Edit:
Basically anything you can think of that you'd need for before, during, or after, they provide. Stool softeners, witch hazel pads, formula if bottle feeding, everything.

My hospital bag includes nursing tank tops and yoga pants. I personally don't feel comfortable unless I'm in a tank top and some type of comfy pants. Two nursing sports bras. Travel sized shampoo and conditioner, tooth brush and paste and contact case and solution. And plenty of room to take home free goodies.

Daddy's bag has a change of clothes for him and our dd. Plus our phone charger, gum and cash. Diaper bag has his coming home outfit, 2 hospital outfits, nail clippers, a swaddler, diaper oil, and a blanket.

I also will pack a big sister bag for our dd but don't have it all sorted out yet.

You'll want breast pads, even if you're not breastfeeding. If you are planning to breastfeed, then nipple cream is essential!
Take a hairbrush, mirror and some make up, too. You'll feel rough after the birth, and it's amazing how much better you can feel just by making yourself look a little more human!