Is monogamy in humans natural?

Pearls18

Reaction score
A guest on This Morning is talking about it, I'm not having a crisis :haha:

Do you think it is realistic to expect the majority of people to be happy being monogamous? Is it unnatural? Is it a pressure we have put on ourselves or do we believe in the concept?

I've always it must be unnatural because so many people have a problem with it. We don't "mate for life" like some animals. If monogamy was natural we surely wouldn't find others attractive when we're with someone too? There'd be something in us that'd stop that reaction? I haven't a clue I'm not a scientist :lol:
I think it's a sensible lifestyle choice as civilised humans, but I don't believe it's how we're predisposed.

Ooo thats a interesting one MW!
I genuinely don't know, some mammals mate for life and some don't right?
I'd like to think its completely natural, i mean for me it absolutely is now i'm with my OH. I can identify between someone being attractive or not but i don't want to do anything about that.

I appear to be but I think it depends on the individual.

I dont think so either, just look at, how many partners the average person has in a lifetime, the divorce rate, how many people have had affairs/been cheated on.