• Welcome back! The Xenforo Cloud migration is now complete. Thank you for your patience! NOTE: please make sure to report any issues to our Technical Support forum and we'll review ASAP.

making bottles

purpledahlia

Mummy
Reaction score
ok so im pretty new to making up bottles, ive just got home and last night used the spare hospital ones i had,

So ive sterilised 5 bottles, now can i put the cooled boiled water into them and put the lid on.. then as and when i need it add the milk?? is that ok? or do i need to sterilise each one then boil kettle cool water and add powder each time..

bit confusing,

i have avent IQ 24 steriliser..

x:blush:

Yeah thats what I do, I keep the water in them ready for whenever he wakes for a feed, add the powder - warm it and feed him.

You always get alot of different answers off people but alot of people do what you said x

yeah its a bit of a minefield when your not sure, i didnt really understand it all or how to sterilise but i got that and did 5 bottles, shes used one, so think ill re-do it all then put the boiled water in and have them just sitting ready. so can i just take the powder upstairs for nighttime and add it in my room to the ready filled bottle of water to save me coming downstairs?

Yes you can hun :) Some people make them up and store them in the fridge, some make them fresh and some do them the way you do. I cannot imagine making them completely fresh - when a baby is hungry you don't have time to boil a kettle, mix the powder in, and then cool it to the right temp.

:hugs: It will all become second nature to you after a few weeks hun. The way YOU think is right, thats the way you should do it

k cool thanks, gonna sterilise, boil kettle, add water, lid on and keep, as and when ill add powder. Put some powder in a sealed container and can keep it upstairs with two bottles and then add in the night to save me coming downstairs. :D